Archive Eartvigil News

Safety Council so as to add Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique, Switzerland

UNITED NATIONS: Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland have been elected to the U.N. Security Council for two-year terms starting Jan. 1, 2023.

They will replace India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway.

Although seats are assigned to regional groups, even candidates running unopposed in their group still need to win the support of more than two-thirds of the U.N. General Assembly.

Ecuador received 190 votes, Japan 184, Malta 185, Mozambique 192 and Switzerland 187 votes.

The Security Council is the only U.N. body that can make legally binding decisions, such as imposing sanctions and authorizing use of force. It has five permanent members: the United States, Britain, France, China and Russia.

See also  Jaishankar holds bilateral with Vietnamese counterpart, trade deal in cyber safety